Book Review – Gaming for Keeps

Published 07/06/2013 by leannecrabtree

Gaming for Keeps

Name: Gaming for Keeps

Author: Seleste deLaney

Genre: Contemporary, Romance, Spy-y

Release Date: 10th June 2013

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I received this ARC in exchange for an honest review.

So this tells the story of Penelope (Pen), an avid player of the online game Heroes of Fallen Gods. She gets invited to ConDamned, a convention that showcases tv, films, comics and gaming, by a fellow player from the game and agrees to meet him there but not before panicking about what he’ll be like and if he’ll turn out like her last boyfriend–another player from the game. Cal, the guy who invited her to the convention, is a code-breaker for a government agency and while all he wants to do is meet Pen, he must also try and save lives as he decrypts a message that a madman is planning on murdering people at the convention. Things don’t always go to plan though…

Well, I’ll start by saying this was a little too geeky for me. That’s not to say it wasn’t a good story but all the references to Firefly and other TV programs I’ve never watched put me off a little.

I read a book for the romance, which I’m sure I’ve mentioned before somewhere, and I enjoyed the spark the characters had. The way they don’t realise they know each other (even if it is through a game) but are drawn to each other right from the first contact. They clicked right away and there’s a scene involving a shower which made me smile.

I did enjoy it; Pen was hands on when it came to defending herself and Cal being slightly geeky made a change to the usual books I read where they’re attractive, tattooed and arrogant.

It’s definitely for those who enjoy comics, online-gaming, cosplay and conventions.

Next review(s): Faking It

Leave a Reply

