Book Review – Point of Retreat

Published 12/06/2013 by leannecrabtree

pointofretreat

Name: Point of Retreat

Author: Colleen Hoover

Genre: New Adult, Contemporary

Release Date: 25th February 2012

Rating: DNF

I received this copy in exchange for an honest review.

I can’t really write a synopsis of the story with me not finishing reading the book. So I’ll copy it from Amazon:

“Hardships and heartache brought them together…now it will tear them apart.

Layken and Will have proved their love can get them through anything; until someone from Will’s past re-emerges, leaving Layken questioning the very foundation on which their relationship was built. Will is forced to face the ultimate challenge…how to prove his love for a girl who refuses to stop ‘carving pumpkins.’”

So last night I was lying in bed wondering what to do about Point of Retreat. I was at 31% and not into the story at all; we just don’t gel together. So should I continue–though I’m not enjoying it–or mark as a DNF.

(That’s probably blasphemous to Colleen Hoover fans but personally for me, it’s how I feel.)

In the end I decided to mark as DNF. It’s not my first Colleen Hoover book, I’ve read Slammed and Hopeless, and if I’m honest I didn’t particularly like those that much either.

With all the 5 star reviews I thought I’d give this a shot and found myself still not gelling with the story. That’s not to say the books are bad–look at the reviews and number of fans she has. Her stories just aren’t for me.

You should definitely give them a try before making a decision about these stories.

Next review(s): Full Blooded

3 comments on “Book Review – Point of Retreat

  • There is absolutely nothing wrong with posting a DNF next to a story. Atleast you gave it a decent enough shot. Usually if I’m not feeling a piece of work by the third or fourth chapter I too leave it be.I also respect the fact that you’re honest in your submission and do not use any influence to cloud any other readers judgment ^__^

    • I don’t think it would be fair if I did that. You should at least give a book/author a try before deciding whether or not to read their work.

      An author friend of mine saw the DNF and asked me why I didn’t like it, because with us liking the same books she was sure she wouldn’t, so I told her to at least read one before making her mind up.

  • Leave a Reply

