Book Review – Grime and Punishment

Published 15/07/2013 by leannecrabtree

grimepunishment

Name: Grime and Punishment

Author: Z.A. Maxfield

Genre: MM Romance

Release Date: 7th May 2013

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I received this ARC in exchange for an honest review.

So this tells the story of Jack, the owner of a crime scene clean-up business, who hears that his first love, Nick, has committed suicide via his on/off Detective lover. Jack goes to the crime scene, wanting to see for himself and also to bid for the clean-up. What he doesn’t expect is his first loves cousin, Ryan, whose house it happened in, to look so much like him. Both Jack and Ryan want closure after what Nick put them through when he was alive and agree to clean the scene together with Ryan being a nurse and knowing the dangers of blood and other body matter. Jack cant help but be attracted to Ryan and the feeling is entirely mutual. Jack gives Ryan something to look forward to, and Ryan gives Jack a reason to stop looking back.

I’m rather picky about my MM Romances. I don’t know why, but I am. Josh Lanyon really started me on genre when I got book 4 in his Adrian English series for free one Christmas through All Romance E-Books. As soon as I read it I went and bought book 5 to see how it was all going to work out and I loved it. The only problem with that is the fact that I’ve probably been spoilt for most other MM books now.

That’s not to say it was bad or anything it just didn’t really do it for me, though I’m not entirely sure why. I liked the fact it was based around something different i.e. crime scene clearance, and it was interesting to read about the depth they go to to clean them.

The romance between the two main characters was quite sweet and progressed over time, which I liked much better than some others which just go straight into the hot and heavy. The two were likable in their own ways and when they finally kissed I was cheering them on.

I also really liked Gabe and Dave, they were always just looking out for Jack and trying to help him do the right thing, even if it didn’t always seem like it.

If you’re a fan of MM Romance’s then I’m sure you’ll like this.

Next review(s): Shadow Embraced

One comment on “Book Review – Grime and Punishment

Leave a Reply

