Book Review – Offside

Published 05/12/2013 by leannecrabtree

16061283 15826458

Name: Offside (Barker Triplets, #1)

Author: Juliana Stone

Genre: Contemporary Romance, Sports

Release Date: 28th September 2012

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

When hockey phenom Billie-Jo Barker returns home and decides to play in the local Friday night hockey league, all hell breaks loose. Not because Billie’s talent is in question, but because Billie is a woman. And though these are modern times, some of the local guys still have a problem letting a girl into their ‘men’s club.’

Soon, Billie is at the center of a small town battle of the sexes, with everyone choosing sides. Her sisters.  The townsfolk.  Her friends.  And yet, the only person whose opinion she cares about doesn’t seem to care much at all.  Logan Forest, the man who broke her heart when she was eighteen and the man she now shares the bench with every Friday night.

She’s got a lot to prove and though Billie Jo Barker scores on the ice, will this girl ever score with the man of her dreams?

It’s been on my kindle forever (it’s a freebie!!) and I thought it was about time I read it, and you know what? I enjoyed it. It’s the kind of contemporary romance I like.

Though how those triplets are related, I’ll never know. They’re always arguing and b*tching about one thing or another in each others lives and it drove me wild whenever they were together in the same room. I get sibling rivalry, but jeez, they were vicious!

As for the romance between Billie-Jo and Logan, I really liked it. It was slow and sweet and had me sighing at certain parts. As the story progressed and we saw hints about the past, I wasn’t expecting one thing that was revealed (though them being triplets, how did I not figure it out?!)

I liked the storyline, a female ex-professional ice hockey player playing on an all men’s team and showing them that she’s good enough to do it and in most cases better than them.

The bits we saw of Bobbie-Jo kinda made me like her, though I’m sure I’ll come to like her fully when I read her and Shane’s story. As for Betty-Jo, she seemed like a bit of a b*tch with what she did to Billie in this and at present I’m not a fan.

Bobbie-Jo’s story continues in Collide and Betty-Jo’s continues in Conceal.

 16053431 16637354

Leave a Reply

