Book Review – Song of the Fireflies

Published 26/12/2013 by leannecrabtree

18310755

Name: Song of the Fireflies

Author: J.A. Redmerski

Genre: New Adult

Release Date: 4th February 2014

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I received this ARC via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Elias Kline and Brayelle Bates have been inseparable since they were kids. When Bray moves to South Carolina, separating the two for the first time, they realize that their innocent childhood friendship has developed into something much more. So when Bray returns to Georgia -and to Elias-four years later, things between them couldn’t be more perfect…until one fateful night changes everything.

Desperate not to go to prison for a terrible accident, Elias and Bray decide to run. As they try to make the most of their freedom, the two find themselves relying on a rebellious group of people who tempt the duo into a wild and daring new life. But they can’t run from their troubles forever.

As the consequences of their past catch up to them, the couple must face reality. Even if they can make it through the unimaginable, Elias knows the truth about Bray’s painful history, and in the end he may not be able to save Bray from herself…

Though I’ve loved previous books by the author, The Edge of Never and Killing Sarai (with The Edge of Always waiting on my kindle and Reviving Izabel on my wish list), I have to admit I wasn’t as into this as I was the other two.

I didn’t feel much of a connection to the characters or their predicament and I wasn’t sure I understood their actions. Well, I did understand but at the same time I knew it would only make things worse for them and I spent the rest of the book waiting for everything to catch up with them.

I liked Elias, he was so in love with Bray from such an early age and he’d do anything to keep her safe. It was sweet to read at times and heart-breaking for him at others. Then there’s Bray, who’s had a tough life. I didn’t really get her, she seemed pretty messed up mentally and did/allowed strange to happen at times.

Secondary characters like Tate were cool, he was pretty laid back and looked out for his friends and family, though I didn’t like his brother Caleb too much, he seemed a little…creepy at times, but maybe that was the drugs he used.

An appearance by one of the author’s other couples was nice too, though the scene didn’t necessarily end well, and I’m looking forward to continuing their story soon, when I get time.

Song of the Fireflies came across as very dark with lots of drugs, sex and several scenes of violence (mainly fighting) and I just couldn’t connect with it, I’m afraid. Admitting that almost feels like blasphemy since I love the author’s writing but on this, I just didn’t feel it. I liked it but I wasn’t blown away by it.

I read books for the romance aspect and I feel like I missed out on it in this, or maybe it just got lost under everything else that happened.

Next review: Elect by Rachel van Dyken (ARC)

Leave a Reply

