Book Review – Anointed

Published 05/03/2014 by leannecrabtree

20869104[1]

Name: Anointed (The Cantati Chronicles, #1)

Author: Maggie Mae Gallagher

Genre: Urban Fantasy, Romance

Release Date: 28th February 2014

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I received this ARC in exchange for an honest review.

My name is Alana Devereaux. I enjoy the simple things in life, walks in the park, sky gazing, and ripping a demon’s heart out though its chest. I am a demon slayer, the last of my kind, and I have been sent back through time to save your world.

How am I doing so far? My time travel went haywire, all the signs I needed to stop the prophecy have passed, and the only way I can save my world is by keeping yours from ending. Then there’s Gaelen, most days I want to deck him. He hides his true motives and if it was not for the intel he had, I would be rid of him. Any day in my life without a demon attack is a good day; I haven’t had a whole lot of those lately. The only problem is, if I don’t stop the Mutari, this world will burn.

The cover grabbed my attention straight away when I saw this in the Netgalley catalogue. You should know by now that I like a good cover.

Then comes the story… Well. I read books for the romance aspect and it took a little too long, in my opinion, for anything even slightly romantic to happen. Yeah, I get she’s on a mission to save the world and everything but surely she’s allowed a little fun? Nevertheless, when it did happen. Phew! It was scorching. The attraction between Alana and Gaelen was hot from the very first meeting…and his eyes! The only problem with their attraction is that they don’t particularly like or trust each other so they fight it, which results in some hot scenes.

There was a lot of description, which I will honestly say bores me to death sometimes and I skip over large areas. In this I scanned it, looking for important stuff that I might need to know.

It had a fair share of location changes; going from London to Wales to Italy to Ireland, as Alana hunted for the items and the information she needed to stop the demons from coming through the rift.

Not really for me, but if you like Urban Fantasy, lots of description, or some steamy sex scenes and attraction then this is probably for you.

Links to book:

Amazon UK: Anointed: The Cantati Chronicles

Amazon US: Anointed: The Cantati Chronicles

Next review(s): The Texas Cowboy

Leave a Reply

