Book phases

Published 20/05/2014 by leannecrabtree

I seem to have gotten over my New Adult phase, though I must still have about 50 books to read on my Kindle in the genre, and gone back to my love of Young Adult–which I seem to favour in paperbacks for some reason.

I’m just starting Betrayals, book two in Lili St. Crow’s Strange Angels series. If I’m being honest I can’t really remember the first book that well, only that the main characters dad was turned into a zombie within the first 40/50 pages and her struggle to find out who did it. My review of the first book wasn’t very helpful either 🙂 We’ll see if I can remember.

I’ve just finished the second book in Rachel Hawkins’ Hex Hall series, Raising Demons/Demonglass, and really enjoyed it so I’ve just gone and bought the third and final book Spellbound so I can see how it all plays out. I’m hoping for happy endings all round.

I recently read Kresley Cole’s Poison Princess, too. When I bought it I had no idea what it was about, she’s just an author I like, and though it took me a while to get in to, once I did I thought it was pretty good and can’t wait to read the second book to see what happens between Jackson and Evie.

I also found myself purchasing paperback copies of Gena Showalter’s White Rabbit Chronicles from my beloved The Works shop. I seem to have a love of zombies books–so long as there is some romance in them, too, of course–and look forward to reading them as I’m a big fan of the author’s Lords of the Underworld series and hope her YA books will be just as good.

Have you recently read a good series that you would recommend? Or have/are you currently going through a phase of only really reading one genre of book and if so, what is it?

2 comments on “Book phases

  • Not on a genre kick right now, but I know what you’re talking about! I went for almost six months just reading Star Wars once! Have you noticed that the zombie and vampire genres are sort of bleeding into each other with vampires acting like zombies sometimes?

    • I have to say that I generally stick to romance books so I haven’t read many books where vampires act like zombies but author do tend to mix genres and species a little more than they used to 🙂

  • Leave a Reply

